Soledad Jiménez (Soledad Jiménez)

Soledad Jiménez

Actress. She was born in Santander, Spain. In the early 1920s, like other Spanish actors such as Rosa Rey, Fortunio Bonanova and Rosita Díaz Gimeno, Jimenez moved to the United States where she began a prolific career in films. She is particularly remembered as Guillermo’s wife in the film “From Whom The Bell Tolls” (1943). Most often she was cast as a Mexican woman. Her other films include “In Old Arizona” (1928), “The Cat and the Canary” (1930), “A Devil with Women” (1930), “Frankenstein” (1931), “Melodía Prohibida” (1933), “La Cruz y la Espada” (1934), “Tres Amores” (1934), “Rumba” (1935), “In Caliente” (1936), “The Robin Hood of El Dorado” (1936), “Kid Galahad” (1937), “The Girl From Rio” (1939), “Seven Sinners” (1940), “Hold Back the Dawn” (1941), “Fiesta” (1941), “South of the Rio Grande” (1945), “Crisis” (1950), “The Law and the Lady” (1951), “The Turning Point” (1952) and “Seminole” (1953). She died in Woodland Hills, California.  (bio by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni)


  • February, 28, 1874
  • Spain


  • October, 10, 1966
  • USA


  • Holy Cross Cemetery
  • California
  • USA

2734 profile views